Sunday, 18 August 2013

The London Zoo

Established on 27 April 1828 and ultimately opened to the public in 1847, the London Zoo is one of the world’s largest zoos. At current, the zoo houses 16.802 individual animals, which together make up 755 species. The London Zoo is managed under the auspices of the Zoological Society of London, which was established in 1826.

At the London Zoo can be found a Gorilla Kingdom, opened by His Royal Highness the Duke of Edinburgh, in March 2007. The Kingdom is home to a group of western lowland gorillas, and consists of a large, moated island with an indoor gym for the gorillas to use. Currently, London Zoo owns three female gorillas named; Zaire, Mjukku and Effie, and Gorilla Kingdom also features small enclosures housing Diana monkeys, black and white colobus, soorty mangabeys and white-cheeked gibbons.

There is an area called Into Africa, which displays animals more commonly found in Africa, including Chapman’s zebra, warthogs, okapi, Rothschild’s giraffes and African wild dogs.
A rainforest area comprises a walk-through indoor rainforest exhibition area, which houses a variety of animal species, commonly available in the rainforest, including two-toed sloths, golden-headed lion, tamarins, sunbittern, red titi monkeys, emperor tamarins and trumpeter Birds. There is also an aquarium in the area that houses a variety of fish.
The Animal Adventure area of the zoo is essentially designed for children and is equipped with playgrounds and a water fountain. Mainly domestic animals can be found in this area, including sheep, IIamas, alpacas, donkeys and kunekune pigs. Other themes present at the zoo include the following: The Reptile House; Giants of the Galapagos ; Komodo Dragons;

Tiger Territory; B.U.G.S; Penguin Beach; Meet The Monkeys; Butterfly Paradise; African Bird Safari; The Snowdon Aviary and Blackburn Pavilion.

No comments:

Post a Comment